top of page

Why do I respect Buddha?

(โปรดอ่านฉบับภาษาไทยด้านล่าง)

By Pattadon Sangduen

"For those who have earn it, respect is to be paid."

I am a better person because of Buddha and his teachings.

Before I was a lay person, I did not care much about the world or other people. I thought that surviving and being successful is enough to live in this world. Being above what the society has standardized is efficient. Once I studied Buddha's teaching, I was astound and very much eager to learn. That is when I found the way to practice Vipassana Meditation. Then the world turned upside down. I realized that to really understand Buddha's teaching is to purify our mind by practicing not by trying to comprehend his words.

I found things that I used to put main important faded such as entertainment, ambition, greed and deceiving. Conscience and consciousness took place. I was in deed awaken to see the world as it is, through and through. I realized what is really important of being a human that is to find the enlightenment of Buddha and end our circle of misery, the circle of rebirth. Now, I understand more about myself and the world around me. I have come to causality and admit everything that happens. Certainly, I am a better person because of Buddha, because of his teachings.

Buddha has given up his luxurious life as a prince to finding the enlightenment. In finding the path is not easy and comfortable, he had suffered and pained but most of all he did it for everyone but himself. His devotion and sacrifice regardless of himself is his pure love. His love that is full of compassion and unlimited defines why we should respect Buddha.

----------------------------------------------------- 26 December 2015 Knowing Buddha Organization

Photo Credit: Pathomkrit Navapraditkul

"เหตุใดฉันจึงเคารพพระพุทธเจ้า" โดย คุณพัทธดนย์ แสงเดือน

ผู้ที่ได้รับความเคารพ คือผู้ที่กระทำบางสิ่งบางอย่างที่น่านับถือ

พระพุทธเจ้า ทรงสละชีวิตเยี่ยงเจ้าชาย ทิ้งความสะดวกสบายในพระราชวัง และอุทิศตนมุ่งแสวงหาการหลุดพ้น ต่อเมื่อพบหนทางดับทุกข์แล้วก็ทรงเผยแผ่ธรรมอย่างต่อเนื่องจนปรินิพพาน พระองค์ทรงอุทิศชีวิต เสียสละ เพื่อการตื่นรู้ และการดับทุกข์ของทุกชีวิต ทรงไม่เคยคิดถึงพระองค์เอง ทรงพระเมตตาต่อสรรพสัตว์อย่างหาที่สุดไม่ได้ ความรักที่บริสุทธิ์ของพระองค์คือตัวแทนและเหตุผลที่ทำไมเราจึงเคารพพระพุทธเจ้า

ส่วนตัวผมเอง ผมเป็นคนดีขี้นเพราะพระพุทธเจ้า เพราะคำสอนของพระองค์

เมื่อก่อนผมเป็นคนธรรมดาๆ เป็นพุทธเฉพาะในบัตรประชาชน ผมคิดเพียงว่าการมีชีวิตที่ประสบความสำเร็จเหนือกว่าที่สังคมคาดหมายก็เพียงพอ แต่ลึกๆ ข้างในมีบางอย่างหายไป ไม่ว่าจะมีเงินหรือประสบความสำเร็จมากขึ้นเท่าไร ช่องว่างนั้นก็ยังไม่เคยเต็ม

จนกระทั่งผมได้พบธรรมของพระพุทธเจ้า ไม่ใช่แค่จากการฟังหรือพิจารณา แต่เป็นการออกปฏิบัติวัปัสสนากรรมฐาน โลกของผมกลับตาลปัต สิ่งต่างๆ ที่เคยสำคัญจางหายไป เช่น ความทะยานอยาก ความเพลิดเพลิน ความโลภและหลง ผมตื่นขึ้น มองโลกในแบบที่มันเป็น ไม่ใช่ในแบบที่เราต้องการให้เป็น ผมเข้าใจว่าสิ่งสำคัญที่สุดในการได้อัตภาพความเป็นมนุษย์คือการได้พบธรรมของพระพุทธเจ้า และจบการเวียนว่ายตายเกิด ตอนนี้ผมเข้าใจสิ่งต่างๆ และมองเห็นใจของตนเองยิ่งกว่าครั้งไหนๆ ผมเข้าใจหลักของกรรม หลักเหตุและผล ผมยอมรับสิ่งที่เกิดขึ้นทั้งดี และร้าย ผมไม่เบียดเบียนผู้อื่น มีความละอายชั่ว เห็นผิดชอบตรงไปตรงมา ผมเป็นคนดีขี้นอย่างไม่ต้องสงสัย เพราะเหตุนี้ผมจึงนับถือ และเคารพบูชาพระพุทธเจ้า

----------------------------------------------------- องค์กรโนอิ้ง บุดด้า เพื่อการปกป้องพระพุทธศาสนา 26 ธันวาคม 2558

เครดิตภาพถ่าย คุณปฐมกฤษฎ์ นวประดิษฐ์กุล

bottom of page